Florida Unclaimed Property

Ever wonder if there is money out there with your name on it? Well the Florida Department of Financial Services Division of Unclaimed Property is currently holding unclaimed property valued at more than One Billion dollars. This unclaimed property belongs to individuals as well as companies.

Some of the unclaimed property includes:

  • Money
  • Watches
  • Jewelry
  • Coins
  • Stamps
  • Historical items
  • Abandoned safe deposit boxes content
  • Dormant Bank Accounts

Unclaimed money is deposited into the state school fund, where it is used for public education. There is, however, no statute of limitations, and citizens have the right to claim their property any time at no cost.

Visit their website to find out if there is in fact money with your name on it!!!

https://www.fltreasurehunt.org

How long does it take to get a 3rd degree burn from hot water?

A 3rd degree burn can occur in 1 second!

A third degree burn is severe and can cause scarring and might even require amputation depending on the severity of the burn.

It only takes a few seconds for hot water to cause a third degree burn.

Hot Water Causes Third Degree Burns…

…in 1 second at 156º

…in 2 seconds at 149º

…in 5 seconds at 140º

…in 15 seconds at 133º.

Third degree burns are very common, especially from hot water and other hot liquids.

Here are some helpful hints to help prevent burns from happening.

  • Make sure you’re being aware of hot liquids and supervise children and older people in tub baths as the water temperature can easily increase in temperature and cause skin to burn.
  • Make sure your water heater thermostat is at a safe level.
  • Set your water heater thermostat at low, which is usually about 120º – for safety, and to save 18% of the energy used at 140º.

Hot liquids can burn you just like a fire can and can cause life threatening burn injuries.

Use care when using hot water to ensure your own safety as well as everyone around you.

 

 

 

 

April is Distracted Driving Month in Florida

Various agencies are teaming up in the month of April to bring awareness to distracted driving. The FHP along with the Department of Transportation, Florida Police Chiefs Association, Florida Sheriffs Association, and AAA are asking motorists to focus on driving.
There were almost 50,000 crashes in Florida last year that involved distracted driving, and they accounted for more than 3,500 serious bodily injuries and 233 fatalities.
Driver distractions include visual (taking your eyes off the road), manual (taking your hands off the wheel), and cognitive (mind not on driving). Texting is one of the most dangerous driver distractions since it involves visual, manual and cognitive distractions. However, texting is not the only distracted driving behavior; other dangerous driving distractions include putting on makeup, tending to children in the backseat, eating, tuning the radio, checking GPS navigation, and even daydreaming.

The public is encouraged to report dangerous and drunk drivers by safely dialing *FHP (*347).

If you are not 100 percent focused, then you’re not 100 percent driving!